Talk About Being Schizoaffective

Let’s talk about being schizoaffective

First of all
It wasn’t my elective
To be schizoaffective

In many ways I may seem different from others
In other ways not

Like anyone else I have my good days and the bad
And the days in between
But I think I may seem more extreme
Than others do

On the good days I’m ecstatic
On the bad days I’m depressed
Sure I’m erratic and more so than the rest
But let’s not suppose I’m so different from those
Who think they need to treat me disparagingly
Just because I’m somehow defective
For being schizoaffective

If only I’d broken an arm
Or a leg
Then others wouldn’t be so alarmed
And I wouldn’t need to beg
To be understood or just feel normal

And we all want to feel normal

Then there are the delusions
Some are grand some are banal
Some paranoid, auditory, visual but somehow
I think I still qualify to be a human being

No, it’s not everyone out there
Many care and that’s a great thing
But the world is often cold and cruel all on its own
Whether we humans like it or not

Employers don’t like to hire
People who are in dire straights
Too much drama for everyone else

Sometimes I think it would be better
To lock me away out of sight
Or get rid of me altogether
Than to put up a fight

Because I feel like too much a burden on society
But it’s hard to go quietly into oblivion
So I stick around for another day or two
Just to see what comes my way

I suppose it’s not the end of the world
Being schizoaffective
But it’s no picnic
At least not from my perspective

Leave a comment